Well, I’ve been inspired to get back into the sewing room (or Suedio as my family calls it) and start – well – sewing!

I was perusing a blog called Buddy and Me and was inspired by the quilt Sue-Anne showed called Ryland Manor. It’s just lovely. (She’s stitching circles, too!) I then followed the link to Threadbear and that was the end of me. I’ve ordered a couple of patterns – Phebe and Tribute to Mrs Williams. Both of them are fairly time-consuming, I would imagine. But both of them are just beautiful.

While I am waiting for the patterns to arrive, I thought that I should probably get to work finishing some of my longer term UFOs. I often have several projects on the go at once, but I think I’ve currently got too many. They have been hanging about for a while and as a result, I feel I’ve lost my groove a bit lately. Not enough focus, perhaps!

So, this past weekend I’ve made some progress on a quilt I started about a year and half ago, which is a Patchwork on Stonleigh pattern called The Cotswolds. I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to get through this, because it’s a quilt I really loved and wanted to do.

Maybe because at the time I started it there were quite a few crises going on around me which had me in a bit of a slump.

Maybe because I have been unsure about my fabric selection.

Anyway, I’ve made progress this weekend. I’ve added 2 borders and started work on the first of the remaining 2 borders. I’m happy with my progress and once I got into a bit of a rhythm I quite enjoyed myself. The next border is a checkboard one, so quite a bit of cutting there. Followed by a large pieces border, like the last one on there at the moment, but in the darker fabrics. If I can apply myself a bit, it really shouldn’t take that long to get this quilt top finished.

I’d really like to get some things finished and mentally clear out the cobwebs so that I can make a concerted (and guilt-free) start on the new projects (one at a time, of course).

What do you do to get out of a slump in your world?

